John 3:27-30 Amplified Bible (AMP)

27 John answered, A man can receive nothing [he can claim nothing, he can take unto himself nothing] except as it has been granted to him from heaven. [A man must be content to receive the gift which is given him from heaven; there is no other source.]

28 You yourselves are my witnesses [you personally bear me out] that I stated, I am not the Christ (the Anointed One, the Messiah), but I have [only] been sent before Him [in advance of Him, to be His appointed forerunner, His messenger, His announcer].

29 He who has the bride is the bridegroom; but the groomsman who stands by and listens to him rejoices greatly and heartily on account of the bridegroom’s voice. This then is my pleasure and joy, and it is now complete.

30 He must increase, but I must decrease. [He must grow more prominent; I must grow less so.]

This entry was posted in Bible Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John 3:27-30 Amplified Bible (AMP)

  1. Pingback: 1 Corinthians 3:21-23 Amplified Bible (AMP) | graceinthecity

  2. Pingback: Ephesians 2:10 Amplified Bible (AMP) | graceinthecity

Comments are closed.